Devil baby hat – free pattern Tuesday

20120109-232600.jpg

I’m both a knitter and a crocheter and I like to combine both elements in patterns. This hat is a reflection of that. It’s only sized for itty, bitty babies right now and is probably only suitable for newborns or as a photography prop. There is a corresponding Diaper Cover.

Enjoy and hey I got it up on time. That Dexter marathon this weekend was good for something.

If you post use #drunkenauntwendy so I can find it.

Copyright 2012: DrunkenAuntWendy
Materials, Notes and Abbreviations
Size 6 knitting needles
I love this yarn – Fire Red
Gauge – 18 stitches per 4 inches
Size E crochet hook
Note: this pattern requires both knitting and crochet.
Instructions
Newborn size – knit pattern
Finished hat measures 11.5 inches in circumference and 4.5 inches tall.
Cast on 52 stitches
K1, P1 across
P1, K1 across
Continue in Stockinette Stitch until piece measure 3.5 inches from cast on edge ending with a purl row.
(K4, k2tog) repeat across, K last 4 stitches (44)
Purl row
(K3, k2tog) repeat across, K last 4 stitches (36)
Purl row
(K2, k2tog) repeat across (27)
Purl row
(K1, k2tog) repeat across (18)
Purl row
(k2tog) repeat across (9)
Fasten off. Leave a long tail for sewing. Thread tail through remaining stitches and pull up tight to close. Sew back seam with mattress stitch.
Horns, make 2
Ch 2
4 SC in 2nd Ch from hook
INC, 3 SC (5)
INC, 4 SC (6)
INC, 5 SC (7)
INC, 6 SC (8)
INC, 7 SC (9)
INC, 8 SC (10)
INC, 9 SC (11)
INC, 10 SC (12)
Fasten off. Leave long tail for sewing. Stuff horns and sew to hat.

 

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Free Patterns, hats
8 comments on “Devil baby hat – free pattern Tuesday
  1. Katie Thull says:

    I’m new at reading patterns for crochet…so I’m having a hard time reading the pattern for the devil horns. Is there any way you could simplify it for me? I’m not sure what an increase is, or where you link or where you turn? Thanks!

    • wmthornb says:

      Katie:

      Thanks for visiting. An increase in crochet is two single crochet stitches in one stitch. There are no turns in this pattern and no joining stitches. It is worked in the round like amigurumi.

      Hope that helps. If you have more questions, please let me know.

      Wendy

      • Carla says:

        Hi, Wendy, could this pattern be modified to make a beanie for a 10 year old? #devilbeanie in pink is what my kiddo wants

      • drunkenauntwendy says:

        Sorry for the delay, I don’t know why my page isn’t letting me know when people comment. You can modify it. I would check the gauge and then standard sizing for a 10 year old and increase the stitches to get that size. A pink devil beanie would be really cute.

  2. CS says:

    What an awesome pattern! Thank you so much for posting it, I’m going to make one for my nephew!

  3. […] this weeks free pattern. I thought I should make a diaper cover to go with the Devil Baby hat that I posted last week. It’s also a combo knit and crochet pattern. The combo should make […]

  4. Courtney Staves says:

    Do you have this pattern for a bigger size (1/2 year old)

Leave a Reply

Discover more from Drunken Aunt Wendy

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading