Free Pattern – Handy Crochet Tote


I have been trying to get this pattern up for awhile, but I’m never home during the daylight hours. I really wanted to get the picture outside. This is the best alternative I could come up with. I really prefer natural light, but I think the colors are fairly well represented. You can attach any flower. I like this sunflower, but you might want to check out Micah Makes and her interchangeable big button flower. You can find it here,.

Copyright 2011 (c) Wendy’s Wild Life
Size E Crochet Hook
Size G Crochet Hook
Vanna’s Choice Yarn in Dusty Green (A)
Vanna’s Choice Yarn in Chocolate (B)
I love this yarn in Sungold (C)
Abbreviations and Terms
SC – Single Crochet
INC – Increase (2 SC in designated stitch)
CC – Change Colors
DEC – SC 2 stitches together
SL – Slip Stitch
Ch – Chain
DC – Double Crochet
BLO – Back Loops Only
FLO – Front Loops Only
TC – Triple Crochet
PC – Popcorn – 4 DC in designated stitch, drop loop. Place hook in first stitch of popcorn grab dropped loop and pull through first stitch. Ch 1 to tighten up popcorn.
Note: Mark beginning of each row with a scrap piece of yarn

In A, Ch 32 with E hook
SC in 2nd Ch from hook, 29 SC, 3 SC in last Ch, 30 SC in unworked loops of stitches on opposite side, 3 SC in end stitch.
[30 SC, (INC) 3 times] twice (72)
[30 SC, (SC, INC) 3 times] twice (78)
[30 SC, (SC, INC, SC) 3 times] twice (84)
[30 SC, (3 SC, INC) 3 times] twice (90)
[30 SC, (2 SC, INC, 2 SC) 3 times] twice (96)
[30 SC, (5 SC, INC) 3 times] twice (102)
Change to G hook, SC in BLO
(SC, DC) 51 times
SC row
Repeat row 9
SC row
Repeat row 9
SC row
Repeat row 9
SC row
Repeat row 9
SC row
SC row
TC in 2nd Stitch, TC in 1st stitch (cross stitch made), repeat across (51 cross stitches)
SC row
22-34. Repeat rows 9 – 21
35-44. Repeat rows 9 – 18
Fasten off

Ch 11
SC in 2nd Ch from hook, SC in remaining 9 stitches, Ch 1, turn
SC in each stitch
Repeat until strap measures the desired length. Remember the strap will stretch
Fasten off and leave a long tail for sewing.
Fold purse in half to get strap placement and sew on
Join (A) with a slip stitch beside the strap and single crochet the edge of the strap. Repeat on other side.

In B, Ch 2
6 SC in 2nd chain from hook
2 Popcorns in each stitch (12)
(SC, INC) 6 times (18)
[SC, PC, (SC, PC) in same stitch] 6 times (24), close circle with a SL
CC to C, in FLO (Ch 7, SL in 2nd Ch from hook, SC in next 5 stitches (24 petals)
Repeat row 5, in BLO
Fasten off. I recommend steam blocking to get the petals to lay flat. Sew to tote.





  1. Hi there! I am making this tote for Mother’s day! My mom just loves sunflowers! I am just wondering which side of the bag is supposed to be the “right side”? I can’t really tell from the pictures! I assume the back loop crochets are supposed to form a sort of design (and therefore that is the right side), but also I have a section where you can see staggering where I have moved up with each round. Very cute bag-can’t wait to finish up and give it to my Mom!


  2. I am just wondering, how much wool is needed for the main bag part (green) for the “Handy Crochet Tote” pattern?


Leave a Reply

